My One and Only Political Post

If you know me at all, a part of my personality is harmony. I am the kind of person who does not like conflict. If there is conflict, I want to address it accordingly and move on, or find something everyone can agree on.

As I grew up, my mom and brother would fight a lot in my house, and most of the time, I would get involved and try to help solve the issue. I was the peacemaker. The person who listened and heard both sides and allowed for discussions and responses when appropriate.

Since the moment I could understand politics, I have hated it. Why?

Because there is never a resolution. The problem to the equation never has a result or a solution. There is never complete harmony. 

I was raised in a conservative household, but when I went to college, I met a lot of liberal people, and it made me question what I believe or what to believe politically. I didn’t consider myself Republican or Democrat. I was in the awkward place in between. In fact, I had my political view on Facebook as this quote…

“I don’t believe in the Republican or Democrat party, I just believe in parties.”- Sex and the City

Image result for party gif

Because I am this way, I read everything. I read both Republican and Democrat views. I read all political posts from my friends on Facebook. I see both sides. I see one side say they want love, but some people in that party produce hate, and I see the exact same thing on the other side.

BOTH sides have love, and BOTH sides have hate. No one side is perfect or RIGHT.

I see some people post “If you are a republican/democrat christian, you are a hypocrite” or “if you voted for ___, unfriend me. You are _(insert mean word here)__”- Is this promoting love or hate?

I see some people say, “Educate yourselves” but then there is distorted news all around us with bias views.

If you do disagree with someone, do you lovingly hang out with them and accept them for who they are? Or do you distance yourself and cut them out of your life? 

As Christians we called to love, and we are also called to turn the cheek sometimes. There have been a number of times when I sign into Facebook, and I read something I disagree with. For a second, I am tempted to respond to this person, but in the end, I don’t. Not because I don’t believe my voice matters or I am not willing to stand up for what I believe, but I believe that there are times to be silent. (Also, is Facebook really the place for these discussions?)

I am not defined by a political party.

I am defined by the King of kings and Lord of Lords.

I am defined by God, my creator, my savior. He stands for love. He IS love.

All I can do is pray for our nation, for our country. Even in disagreements, God can reveal himself.

Matthew 5:38-40 (NIV)

38 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.39 But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also. 40 And if anyone wants to sue you and take your shirt, hand over your coat as well.

Leave a comment